ffa banq14The Oak Hill FFA chapter held their annual FFA Banquet on Sunday, April 13th. This year our banquet speaker was Maddy Buschur, she serves as the 2013-2014 Ohio FFA State president. She educated our members and guests on the importance of who you are and what you make of yourself. Throughout the evening many awards were handed out to FFA members for the accomplishments they have made through the year.

The awards given through the night were Forestry, Rural Soil judging, Urban Soil judging, Novice Parliamentary Procedure, Green Hand Quiz, Food Science and Technology, General Livestock judging, Poultry judging, and Meat judging. Star Awards were given to outstanding Green Hand members (1st year) Josie Hackney, Ginger Hackney, Morgan Lahrmer, Madison French, Haley Diltz, Chase Dickens, Connor Hughes, Devin Lewis, Carlee Dempsey. Star Chapter Farmer awards (2nd year) were given to Jenna Spees, Matthew Gilliland, Kelsey Gaines, Morgan Crabtree, Kayla McNeal. Star Ag-Production 1 (3rd year) were given to Bradley Willis, Sydney Strite, Michaela Harden, Devin Coon. Star Ag-Production II (4th year) were given to Cody Coon, Kole Strickland, Shane Woolum. This year’s DeKalb award went to Kole Strickland, a senior.

The last couple of years we have had two students receive their State degree, these students are Dirk Dempsey and Devin Coon. Devin Coon has received his state degree this year at State FFA Convention. Dirk Dempsey recently received his American FFA Degree this past year at National FFA Convention. Honorary Degree Recipients were also recognized as now part of the Oak Hill FFA chapter. These People are H & H Industries, Frazier Farms, Jackson-Vinton Farm Bureau. The new 2014-2015 officers and positions were also elected Sunday evening: President - Devin Coon, Vice President - Bradley Willis, Secretary - Haley Diltz, Treasurer - Kayla McNeal, Reporter - Morgan Lahrmer, Sentinel - Chase Dickens, Student Advisor - Sydney Strite, Historian - Devin Lewis, Parliamentarian - Kelsey Gaines, Chaplain - Michaela Harden, Assistant Officers - Carlee Dempsey, Emily Davis, Brittany Hubbard, and Connor Hughes. The Oak Hill FFA would like to thank everyone who donated and helped this year’s Banquet be a success.

Pictured above (L-R): Shane Woolum, Jenna Spees, Emily Davis, Morgan Crabtree, Kayla McNeal, Devin Coon, Michaela Harden, Sydney Strite, Shelby Snodgrass, Brittany Hubbard, Matthew Gilliland, Kelsey Gaines, Alanta Lambert, and Bradley Willis.

Submitted by Morgan Lahrmer, Chapter Reporter

Text Alerts and Messages

alert buttonText alerts are available for school closings, delays, early dismissals, emergencies, and general announcements. These are in addition to automated phone calls currently sent during inclement weather. Click here for more info.

June 2019
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29